Tori de Clare, author of the popular 'The Midnight Saga' books

Tori's profile on Goodreads Follow me via social media


Tori de Clare, born 1970, grew up in Greater Manchester. Having taught piano for 25 years in between being a full-time stay-at-home mum of four, she began writing six years ago. Her debut novel, Either Side of Midnight – the first book of a series – was intended for young adults, but has been widely accepted by an adult readership. She now lives in East Yorkshire, England, and continues to teach music and write books and finds time for little else beyond family. Daughter of two pianists, it was hardly a surprise that music became Tori’s career. Cursed fate!

Tori de Clare: ‘My parents were good at two things, which they very kindly passed on: music and writing. I pursued both. My dad played the piano by ear and didn’t need to read music; my mum was classically trained. Greedily, I quite fancied both talents, but followed my mum down the classical route. All this sounds very cultured, but the truth is I’m exceptionally down-to-earth and love nothing better than a good laugh. Un-funnily, my dad died when I was 18. In his spare time, he never had a book out of his hands and aspired to having a book published. Having never had the chance to realise his ambition, this book is dedicated to him and to my mum who taught me to play the piano.’

The final book in The Midnight Saga ‘Shadows to Ashes’ was released in June 2017.


Either Side of Midnight
(The Midnight Saga Book 1)
What if the best day of your life became your worst nightmare?

When nineteen-year-old Naomi Stone is snatched from her husband at knifepoint on the night of their wedding and taken to a deserted cemetery, she knows her life is finished. Drugged and disorientated, she loses consciousness as she lies in an open grave with a gun to her head. The following day, she awakes to find herself unharmed and secured to a bed in a secluded cottage.
Only one person knows she’s there – the man in the balaclava who’s holding her, feeding her, revealing nothing. And his voice is chillingly familiar.

The Darkness Visible
(The Midnight Saga Book 2)
What if your worst nightmare was only the beginning?

Home safely after abduction and attempted murder, Naomi Hamilton’s worst nightmare should be over. But what if things are not all they appear to be? What if abduction and attempted murder was only the beginning? Naomi finds herself in a tangled web from which there is no real escape or freedom. When everything feels dark, she turns to the one person who’s saved her life and given her a future – the one person she can trust. Trust feels risky and dangerous. Threat is a constant presence. And one wrong move could cost her everything.

Shadows to Ashes
(The Midnight Saga Book 3)
What if the beginning could also mean the end?

When a peaceful island in the Indian Ocean isn’t far enough away to escape danger, where do you go? With your wedding in ruins and your fiancé arrested, what do you do? It was supposed to be a new beginning, but it ended before it began. Naomi Hamilton knows why. Knows who’s responsible. Knows what he wants. The king, guarded by his faithful defence. One man who’ll stop at nothing. One girl who’s tired of hiding. Because maybe running isn’t the answer. So maybe there’s only one way to put an end to the game. To face it. Play it. Head to head.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

‘Follow’ and ‘Like’ my social media pages to keep up to date.

Contact Me